“What’s Wrong With You?? Why Are You Smiling??!”

Reticent, meaning, not revealing thought’s and feelings readily, perfectly sums up who I am as a person. This morning, I woke up feeling great because I have 1 week and 5 days left of work before I leave for Philippines (yay!). The first thing one of the people here in the office asked me was, “What’s wrong with you? Why are you smiling?!” If you’ve been hanging out in this blog for a while you’d know that I’m not much a morning person. And everyone here in the office is used to it by now. So if I do show up wearing a smile on my face they think that something exceptional has happened. Other than the realization that I have few working days left, no, nothing exceptional. So this co-worker asked me another thing, “Is there any way for me to make sure that you’d be this smiley every morning?” And I answered, “No. There’s none.”

I am very reticent. There are days where I seem to be the most buoyant person in the room but deep inside I’m repressing a lot of soul wrenching things that I just want to forget about until I’m alone again in the safety of my room. And there are days where I just want to sit alone, quietly, listening to good music, but since I have a resting bitch face, everyone assumes I’m pissed at something. I’m sure I’m not the only person who deals with this. Everyone must have had this happened to them at one point in time. And it sucks doesn’t it? But it’s part of life and we just have to deal with it I guess.

Leave a Reply

