Happy International Women’s Day!

It’s International Women’s Day today, so I want to greet all my uterus carrying bad asses a happy day!

To tell you the truth, I still hesitate referring myself as a woman. I’ve always associated the word to an older female, someone wiser, someone who have already accomplished more than ten things in her life, and I just don’t see myself there yet. But in celebration of today, I’d like to list down (some of) ten (not in any particular order) of my favorite women. Women who have inspired me and just makes me so god damn proud I’m a woman. Spoiler alert: Tina Fey will be here, obviously.

  • Joanne Rowling

“We do not need magic to change the world, we carry all the power we need inside ourselves already: we have the power to imagine better”

Who taught me that books can change lives. And how writing can be monetizing.

  • Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta

“We need fantasy to survive because reality is too difficult.”

Who taught me that making a moniker for yourself is perfectly OK. And also disco sticks.

  • Vera Mindy Chokalingam

“this whole foods frozen indian tv dinner i just ate is terrible, why did I never learn to cook the cuisine of my ancestors”

Who taught me that flirting, if done right, is OK. And how to rock a dark lip.

  • Amy Meredith Poehler

“No one looks stupid when they’re having fun.”

Who taught me that marriage that end in divorce is still a success. And a cackling laugh is a major asset.

  • Sarah Kate Silverman

“Mother Theresa didn’t walk around complaining about her thighs – she had shit to do.”

Who taught me that women can pull off a penis joke as well as any man. And brunettes can too have more fun.

  • Amy Beth Schumer

“I say if I’m beautiful. I say if I’m strong. You will not determine my story – I will.”

Who taught me that it’s OK to make fun of your friends. Especially when they really deserve it.

  • Malala Yousafzai

“Extremists have shown what frightens them most: A girl with a book.”

Who taught me that kids can make a difference. And also how to make Jon Stewart fall in love with you.

  • Björk Guðmundsdóttir

“It takes a long time to fully become who you are.”

Who was the very first person who taught me that it’s more than OK to be weird. And also I can marry a cat.

  • Kathryn Ann Bigelow

“I think the secret to directing is collaborating”

Who taught me how much women can be so courageous. And how to be classy when you’re sitted in front of your ex-husband in Oscars.

  • Elizabeth Stamatina Fey

“I’ve been reading the ‘50 Most Beautiful People’ issue for years, and there’s always one person on the list who makes you think, ‘Give me a fucking break.’ This year, I’m proud to be that person.”

Who taught me so much it’s ridiculous.


So which woman inspires you? Are you following my blog? Maybe you should. Since it’s Women’s Day and all.

2 comments

  1. Reading this post going “YES. YES. YES. TOTALLY. AMAZING…WTF TINA FEY IS ACTUALLY CALLED ELIZABETH. THAT IS MY MIDDLE NAME. I KNEW SHE WAS MY SOUL SISTER. CAN I CALL HER LIZ?”

    …. Just found your blog it’s really great… (that sounds so lame but I mean it)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

