Maybe You Should Listen To Hozier’s Album Erm… Hozier

Some days ago, I made the conscious choice of recommending One Direction’s album Four. And though I don’t regret that decision, I am here to tell you that my taste in music far exceeds lyrics about the world exploding because of a girl in jeans. Don’t let the One Direction fans see this post please.

I don’t know if you’ve met this Irish tall drink of water. But if not this is your chance to get into the world of Hozier. And it can get a little dark but in a romantic way.

My mission is to convince a certain amount of you to listen to Hozier and if you have already, to listen to the entirety of his album. Because I am an old fashioned purist who roots for the underdog Side B tracks!

Hozier’s album Hozier. Let’s do this!

1. Take Me To Church

The only heaven I’ll be sent to
Is when I’m alone with you—

A song about a man worshiping a woman over organized religion.

What I think about it: Blasphemously sexy!

Listen to this when: Oh! You’ve not heard of this song before? That’s a cute rock you’re living under!

2. Angel of Small Death & the Codeine Scene

With her sweetened breath, and her tongue so mean
She’s the angel of small death and the codeine scene

A song about a man falling in love with a red neck’s daughter.

What I think about it: It’s the kind of song someone writes about their dumb “first love”

Listen to this when: During harvest time or while pulling out the weeds in the garden. While getting high on cough syrup of course!

3. Jackie and Wilson

Every version of me dead and buried in the yard outside.
Sit back and watch the world go by.

A song about finding the person you want to spend your future with.

What I think about it: It’s always sweet when a guy sings a song about having kids with someone. Sweet. Super sweet.

Listen to this when: When you’re about to propose. 

4. Someone New

And so I fall in love just a little, oh a little bit every day with someone new

A song about flirting with a person and wanting to take it to the next level.

What I think about it: Hozier should have totally chosen this song as his next release, to kind of counter balance the semi darkness of Take Me To Church. Really adorable.

Listen to this when: Actually sing this during karaoke night and dedicate it to the new cute girl/guy. Think JGL in 500 Days of Summer but sober please.

5. To Be Alone

It feels good, girl, it feels good
Oh to be alone with you

A song about taking that girl/guy home to your place and you’re about to do the sexy time.

What I think about it: Umm yes!! I would totally sleep with you Hozier!! And also the line To feel your weight in arms I’d never use – It’s the God that heroin prays to, belongs in our marriage vows.

Listen to this when: When you’re undressing and about to make sweet sweet love.

6. From Eden

Babe, there’s something tragic about you
Something so magic about you

A song about loving the person you love even with all the flaws and loving the flaws.

What I think about it: I’m dying. I’m dying! The lyrics! A song that I should maybe learn and sing in my best friends wedding.

Listen to this when: You wake up in the morning and you’re staring at that person you love while they’re still sleeping and realizing you want to be with them for a long long time.

7. In A Week (feat Karen Cowley)

We’ll lay here for years or for hours
Thrown here or found, to freeze or to thaw

A song about wanting to die and rot with the person you love.

What I think about it: This is so romantically dark! The tune is so sweet and hypnotic and then there’s the lyrics talking about insects eating their rotting skin. It’s so new and yet I’ve heard something like this before.

Listen to this when: When you and you’re honey are staying in the weekend marathoning the West Wing and pigging on fast food delivery.

8. Sedated

We are deaf, we are numb
Free and young and we can feel none of it

A song about social media and the dangers it possess.

What I think about it: When I listen to this, it takes me back to those times when I would attend music festivals and get high on… well the music.

Listen to this when: You’re about to get high on….music.

9. Work Song

No grave can hold my body down
I’ll crawl home to her

A song about coming home after a hard day’s work.

What I think about it: This makes me feel so hopeful that I can find someone who I can come home to and just get a foot massage.

Listen to this when: When you’re heading home to someone and that someone promises you a hot meal and an episode of The Great British Bake Off. That’s love!

10. Like Real People Do

I will not ask you where you came from
I will not ask and neither should you

A song or more like a jab on online dating and at the same time condoning online dating.

What I think about it: It’s so sweet. Like everything in the world is okay, and no one is dying because of comedy, for at least 3 minutes.

Listen to this when: Convincing the person you’ve been flirting with on Omegle to finally meet up with you in person.

11. It Will Come Back

You know better babe, you know better babe,
Than to talk to it, talk to it like that.

A song with repetitive lyrics and drums.

What I think about it: I couldn’t care much for it. Like Real People Do is a tough act to follow. Sorry.

Listen to this when: When you have to make a post about Hozier’s album. Actually, I just listened to this again while making this post and that intro is sick!

12. Foreigner’s God

Always a well dressed fraud
Who wouldn’t spare the rod

A song about consumerism.

What I think about it: Some people would be tempted to skip this track.

Listen to this when: You’re getting over a Fight Club high.


There’s actually 4 more tracks in this album that I did not include in this post. No real reason but I just feel I have to cut it down to 12. It doesn’t man I love Hozier any less. In a world of auto tune Hozier is a breathe of fresh mainstream air. Plus, he’s ultra hot.

I hope my blog mom Margaret (Very Bangled) agreed with this album choice of the week since she highly disagreed with my last one. And also roping in Cee in this post to force/convince her to be on board the Hozier train.

Do you listen to Hozier? What favorite song do you have on repeat? And more importantly, what album should I be listening and reviewing next?

I leave you with this very sexy picture of Hozier.

3 comments

    1. Thanks! I’m trying to do more posts like these because it forces me to listen to the entire album which I’ve become bad at doing. So if you have any albums to suggest please do so! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

