The Irony Of Things

I’ve been obsessed with this Ed Sheeran song since I started listening to the X album. I was never a big Ed Sheeran fan but this album is very different from his 2011 debut. I felt with this album he’s really grown up (thanks to Pharell I think), but reluctantly. If you’re in your late twenties you know what I’m talking about.

“The last album was more young and dewy-eyed and innocent. I’ve still got very nice songs on this record. But some of them are bite-y,” 

See? Even Ed agrees.

Besson & Reni1 copy (3)

Gingerboy in 2011

171585a

Gingerman in 2014

This song is supposedly about his tryst with another famous person and if you’re going to really obsess and (not expertly) dissect what the rest of the song means, you pretty much get a clear picture of what happened.

It took me a few days to actually Google the damn thing. Who was he dating? Who was the other guy? And it was only this morning did I find out who. But before the reveal, if you don’t know already, I just want to state the irony of things and how this whole thing is dealt by these musicians.

How does Ed Sheeran feel about people liking and loving this song when it obviously caused him (not to be sappy but) so much pain?

If I get to meet Ed and we got around to talking about his new album, I’d be awkward to say that this is my favorite track (even if it is) because I don’t want him to be reliving the whole ordeal. I’ve never written a song about my ex that’s been played over and over but I assume that’s what it would feel like.

But then they get to purge this over and over. It plays non-stop on the radio, they sing it over and over on events and TV appearances, and eventually in a bigger audience during the concerts. Do they sing it over and over and then it finally loses it’s original meaning and they just treat it like any other song? Because if not, that is some serious act of self-mutilation, at least emotionally.

I don’t know why the knowledge of this affects me so much that I felt like writing about it because I normally don’t. Music is so personal to me. When I say that I like this band or this song, that’s like letting someone in to who I am as a person.

Maybe it’s because I was hurt too. Some guy cheated on me with some girl, the only difference was, I was not as talented to actually write a song about it. But I talked about it the only way I know how. I blogged about it, I wrote letters about it, etc. And people expressed their appreciation of it by “liking” it and “re-blogging” it. It was weird on some level, really.

Maybe that’s why Facebook wants to add a dislike button?

This post went longer than I expected but Ed dated Ellie Goulding and apparently she cheated on him with Niall Horan from One Direction.

“The story in ‘Don’t’ is 100 percent true. I could have gotten nastier – there was more shit that I didn’t put in.”

Umm…ok?! But with this information revealed to you, listen to the song all over again, and tell me it does not affect you.

Leave a Reply

