To Everyone Asking Me About Gone Girl

With October approaching, people, mostly from the internet, have been stopping me and asking me about whether or not they should read the Gone Girl book (by Gillian Flynn) before seeing the movie. And all I have to say is this:

Gone-Girl-Poster

David Fincher movies always get the best posters

Don’t read the book. If you wanted to read the book you would have already done so at some point as it came out 2 years ago. If you’re reading the book for the benefit of “understanding” the movie. Don’t. Believe in David Fincher’s capability of letting you in the know – I would like to take this opportunity to honor Fincher’s greatest work The Social Network (applause) – and from what I know the movie opens with a monologue anyway that is quite similar to the opening of the book.

social_network_xlg

What did I tell you about Fincher’s movie posters

Don’t even read about the movie. All you need to know is that Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike are playing husband and wife. Neil Patrick Harris is in this playing a very un-Barney role. There is killing involved set in suburbia. If that’s not enough to get you excited I don’t know if you should see the movie. Or at least in theaters anyway.

gone-girl

As a person coming from I’ve already read the book section. I kind of wished that I didn’t. It would have been a better movie experience if I didn’t know anything about the story. But I am still excited about seeing this. Since I have taken a new liking to Ben Affleck (Yeah! He’s the new Batman. Maybe we should just deal with it) and Rosamund Pike is always a welcoming sight.

So yeah. See the movie. Read the book later.

2 comments

  1. I loved the book, and I’m incredibly excited for the movie. The Social Network is easily one of the best movies I’ve ever seen and I’m so excited that Fincher, Reznor and Ross are collaborating again! I haven’t even watched any trailers yet, I’m just going to go into it with nothing more than the book on my mind.

    -avideogamelife.com

    Like

    1. Yeah the book is really good. But I think I might have chucked it after reading it and it took me a while to move on from it. But yeah, I’ve been excited about this movie for a while. I wish I could watch it without knowing anything.
      And yes The Social Network is awesome. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

