Weird Wednesdays – Babymetal

I like metal music. I actually like all genres of music. Pop, Punk, Ska, Goth, Classical, I think I’ve listened to them all. But when you surf the internet at 2 o clock in the morning. Just randomly clicking on more videos on YouTube, you just know that there is a bigger world out there.

Babymetal – Megitsune (Female Foxes)

Babymetal is a Japanese metal and dance group. Now hold up, dancing to metal? They say that the band is a “fusion of metal and idol music”, which I guess means metal with any type of mainstream genre. The three girls that make up Babymetal are Su-metal (Suzuka Nakamoto), Yuimetal (Yui Mizuno), and Moametal (Moa Kikuchi). All three girls are from Japan in their teens (15-16). 

The band defines themselves as “kawaii metal” meaning cute metal. Apparently they are one of the most popular music groups in Japan to date. People outside of Japan think, that oh, they are probably not weirded out by this because they are so used to this type of content. But for us living outside the Japanese universe, it’s the shock value that gets us. I mean the whole point of me sharing this to someone else is that I can talk to someone else about it.

Babymetal – Ijime,Dame,Zettai (No More Bullying)

The band has since reached cult status. And they are now touring the US and UK. You guys have no idea how badly I want to attend a Babymetal show. Everyone seems to be having the best time ever! 

babymetalhammersteinposter2014

 

If you’re in the New York, Manhattan area, maybe you should check it out. Take a butt load of pictures! 

So what do you think of Babymetal? I’m sure it’s not the weirdest thing you’ve seen on the internet right? If you’re a metal fan, what do you think of this genre? Tell me on the comments!

I leave you with my favorite Babymetal song. 

Babymetal – Gimme Chocolate

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

