Happening At Present – Listening to Guardians of the Galaxy’s Soundtrack on loop

I finally saw Guardians of the Galaxy and I’ve only seen it once but I’m already convinced that it’s in my favorite movies list of 2014. I’m not a comic book connoisseur, I wish I had been, but this movie got me particularly excited because of Chris Pratt. I love that guy! It’s not surprising that a lot of people don’t know him yet (at least before this movie) because he’s only used to taking a background role. I bet you don’t remember him being on Wanted (2008) or Bride Wars (2009), which is fine. Because in my (amateur) opinion, Chris Pratt’s (movie) career started in Zero Dark Thirty (2012) (and of course in Parks and Recreation). So if you’re new in the Star Lord bandwagon, you can start from (re)watching that, plus that movie is pretty bad ass, plus Jessica Chastain

Everyone liked Guardians of the Galaxy, yes, it is, by far, the best Marvel movie. James Gunn really slam dunked on this one. Considering that Guardians is not even a mainstream Marvel comic. Which goes to show how essential good casting is. So we’re all in agreement about how amazing this movie is. But what I want to mostly want to talk about is the movie’s soundtrack.

The Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) mostly consist of 70’s and 80’s music. Most of the music that Quill has on his “Awesome Mix Vol 1” are about the same songs my mom played when I was growing up. There are very few things I remember about my first four years of life, but the music, man that stays on you. I was born in the late 80’s in The Philippines. Kids my age don’t particularly listen to Bowie or to Marvin Gaye, or kids don’t particularly listen to music at all (I know, it’s unforgivable) and this is an observation that I’m basing out of my own childhood. So when Come and Get Your Love by Redbone starts playing and you know all the words, you get strange looks. It doesn’t help if you can’t name the artist either. 

Quill’s violent attachment to his Walkman is mostly because it’s his only connection with his dead mother and more importantly his only connection to Earth. Why else would he risk his neck going back for it. The music reminds him that Earth exists, that a life before him being abducted exists, that he had a family (I realized that the comic book Peter Quill has a different fictional history to cinematic Peter Quill). To me it’s like a metaphor of a life existing before you’re tasked or for the sake of comparison, abducted to do mundane office work. I’m listening to the soundtrack right now and it reminds me of going home with a scraped knee, of still breast feeding at the age of 3, of listening to my then estranged father’s taped messages singing renditions of Bryan Adams songs. The songs made me nostalgic as fuck. 

Me while listening to the soundtrack

Me while listening to the soundtrack

James Gunn is a genius and you know that the songs in the Awesome Mix are chosen for a specific reason, made to convey the movie’s intention. Here are a few of my guesses. 

Collectively, the songs are first released in the 70’s-80’s which gives us the grasp of the timeline which decreased the need for a back story. Peter is a kid, his mother died, he was abducted by the aliens, then his the Star Lord. Done. 

I’m the space invader, I’ll be a rock ‘n’ rollin’ bitch for you

Need anymore convincing? Yeah, didn’t think so. 

I like to see you But then again
That doesn’t mean you mean that much to me

Peter is in denial that he misses his mom, still regretting not holding her hand before she died. So aside from him being a playboy, the song is mostly because of how he’s such a mama’s boy. 

I must have been through about a million girls
I’d love ’em and I’d leave ’em alone

Since I met you baby
I fooled around and fell in love

The song is Quill’s admission that he knows he’s a sleazy guy (numerous mentions of him not being an honorable guy, or he’s an honorable guy) but since he met the rest of the Guardians (or just Gamora in particular) he’s find a new purpose/love. 

This is just the best song to listen to in an otherwise mundane activity, like walking on your way to steal an orb perhaps. Or typing a blog post. It just works!

I’d go on but most of you are better than articulating their love for music than me. Have you listened to the Guardians soundtrack? Of course you did! Tell me, what’s you favorite track? What other soundtracks should I listen to? 

10 comments

      1. Oh, I most definitely dig superhero stuff, but not Superman, because he sucks balls. Batman rules, but only in the graphic novels. The films have sucked and I can’t believe they cast Ben Affleck as Batman. The Dark Knight Returns is my favourite Batman story ever. I know Hollywood are going to screw it up.

        Like

  1. I’ve been dying to want to watch Guardians. I can’t wait! I love soundtracks also. The Amazing Spider-Man 2 by Hans Zimmer and his crew is playing in my headphones while I type. It’s been on loop for the past two weeks. I know, I’m still not sick of it! Love it so much!!!!

    Like

    1. Haven’t listened to the Spider-Man soundtrack yet. I usually watch rom-coms for the sake of the soundtrack. I get to discover underground indie bands that way.

      What other soundtrack would you recommend? 🙂

      Like

      1. These are great also: Ender’s Game, Transformers: Age of Extinction, Pacific Rim and Endless Love. That last soundtrack is my 2014 summer soundtrack. I listened to its songs on repeat for at least a few weeks–at least!

        Like

      2. have you tried listening to Nick and Norah Infinite playlist soundtrack? That one’s really good. Also 500 Days of Summer.
        I have seen Endless Love but never bothered to check the soundtrack. Thanks for the suggestion.

        Like

Leave a Reply

