I’m Going To Read 50 Shades Of Grey… So You Don’t Have To

Now before you scroll past this. Let me explain.

I needed a new book to read. Something light hearted and fun. I’ve been straight up reading classics and suspense thrillers for the past month and I needed a palette cleanser. Something derivative, yet current. Something other people can also relate to. And then I saw it. At the dark corner of my bookshelf. Stacked beneath old issues of Men’s Fitness. The 50 Shades of Grey trilogy. Yes, I have physical copies of them. Yes, all three. Yes, I regret buying them. Yes, you can borrow it. 

cue slasher music

cue slasher music

I read 50 Shades of Grey back when it was at the peak of it’s time. Everyone was talking non stop about how dirty this book is – nope! How Christian Grey is the ultimate dream guy – Umm.. Hello?! Mr. Darcy! And how this book is shocking and entertaining at the same time – Watch A Clockwork With Orange. Obviously, I was not inclined to read the book right away. 

I don’t have reasons for why I read it in the first place. Maybe it was a social experiment. Maybe in a writer’s perspective, I wanted to find out what made this book so relevant. Maybe, like so many females out there who purchased this book, I am in need of erotica. Hahaha! Social experiment, definitely social experiment. 

I do however have reasons for reading this again and blogging about it. 

– This project was inspired by another blog that I really enjoy reading. It’s a blog about a guy reading Twilight. I promise you it is a fun read. 

– I needed something I can do on a regular and make it part of my routine. Like a 30 day squat challenge. Only not 30 days and something less strenuous than squats. 

– With the 50 Shades of Grey movie coming out on Valentine’s day 2015 *rolls eyes*, 50 Shades of Grey is relevant again. Not that it never was but now it’s a resurrected hashtag. What better time than now to relive the pain of reading this. 

from Google images

from Google images

This blog however is not, I repeat, is not a review of 50 Shades Of Grey. I don’t review things. I don’t even value my own opinion most of the time and I have to live with myself. This is just a reaction to reading 50 Shades of Grey. A comical one. This is not a jab at E.L. James and this is certainly not about ironically liking 50 Shades of Grey. I don’t ironically like things. 

So there. So I’m going to read and blog about 50 Shades of Grey. Wow! This sounded to be a good idea 15 minutes ago. 

5 comments

  1. I wouldn’t mind hearing about it – I’ve never bothered to read it. Is that sacrilegious?

    I’ve also never read Twilight. Or seen Breaking Bad. Or Star Wars. Or Star Trek. I actually don’t even know the difference between the last two.

    Does that make me irrelevant? Haha
    xLoJu

    Like

    1. Sacrilegious far from it. You’ve never read 50 Shades of Grey? Then hopefully you can read it vicariously through me. Which might be the best idea. But we’ll see. Hope you stick around! Hehe.

      I don’t think you’re irrelevant. Not partaking in a thing that causes social frenzy is also a habit of mine.

      What are you mostly into? I’m curious to know what other people are into.

      Like

      1. I just started reading the classics. Starting with Jane Austen. Our school never bothered exposing us to that stuff.

        What older stuff can you recommend? Something easy on the eyes.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

